FEMA approves reimbursement of Hurricane Matthew infrastructure costs for 4 more counties


COLUMBIA, S.C. (WCBD) – The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved four more counties for Individual Assistance, giving residents who suffered losses to apply for aid in the wake of Hurricane Matthew. The new counties added include:

  • Clarendon County
  • Calhoun County
  • Horry County
  • Marlboro County

Assistance can include money for temporary rental assistance and essential home repairs for primary homes, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help survivors recover from the effects of the disaster.

Now, South Carolina state agencies, local governments and non-profit organizations in 22 counties are now eligible through FEMA to recoup costs associated with infrastructure damage caused by Hurricane Matthew. The FEMA Public Assistance Program will provide a partial reimbursement of costs for damages to roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities, and parks and recreational facilities in the following counties:

  • Allendale
  • Bamberg
  • Barnwell
  • Beaufort
  • Berkeley
  • Calhoun
  • Colleton
  • Clarendon
  • Darlington
  • Dillon
  • Dorchester
  • Florence
  • Georgetown
  • Hampton
  • Horry
  • Jasper
  • Lee
  • Marion
  • Marlboro
  • Orangeburg
  • Sumter
  • Williamsburg

Previously, 17 of these counties, not including Orangeburg County, were only approved for Categories A and B, debris removal and emergency response measures. At this time, Charleston and Darlington Counties are only eligible for Categories A and B but are still being assessed by local, state, and federal officials.

The FEMA Public Assistance program categories approved for reimbursement are as follows:

  • Category A: Debris Removal
  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures
  • Category C: Roads and Bridge.
  • Category D: Water Control Facilities
  • Category E: Buildings and Equipment
  • Category F: Utilities
  • Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities, and Other Items

The FEMA Public Assistance program is a reimbursement grant program. Typically, the federal share is 75 percent. More information about this program can be found here.

Survivors should register with FEMA by visiting http://www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-3362. Disaster assistance applicants who are deaf or hard of hearing can call 800-462-7585. Those who use Video Relay Service may call 800-621-3362. The toll-free numbers will operate between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. Once registered, FEMA will work with each resident to determine what aid, if any, might be available.

State and local agencies continue damage assessments in areas affected by Hurricane Matthew. The results of these preliminary damage assessments are then submitted to FEMA to determine a county’s eligibility for the Individual Assistance and the Public Assistance programs.

To date, no counties have been denied any federal aid by FEMA as part of this process.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s