SCDOT continuing debris collection operations following Matthew

A family tries to move debris on Main Road.

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WCBD) — The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) has Hurricane Matthew debris collection operations on-going in the following counties: Darlington, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Sumter and Williamsburg counties.

SCDOT will make multiple passes through the counties to pick up debris. SCDOT will focus on vegetation collection first (leaves, logs, plants, tree limbs) followed by flood debris. Do not put leaves in bags.

Only debris resulting from the hurricane will be collected.

SCDOT notes that Charleston and Beaufort County governments have elected to pick up debris within the borders of their own counties.

SCDOT is making arrangements with other counties for debris collection. Notice will be announced when those arrangements have been completed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s