Marion, Orangeburg counties added to federal disaster list

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) — Officials have added Marion and Orangeburg counties to the list of counties considered federal disaster areas after Hurricane Matthew.

Saturday’s order allows those counties and 13 others to get federal money to help with local and state recovery efforts from the winds and flooding from last weekend’s storm.

The declaration allows the federal government to reimburse local governments, state agencies, some nonprofit organizations and electric cooperatives.

Flooding from the hurricane is still affecting parts of the state. Businesses and residents in Conway are watching as the Waccamaw River is expected to come within a few inches of its record crest Sunday. The Little Pee Dee River also has major flooding.

Power companies reported 18,000 outages Saturday afternoon. Most of them are South Carolina Electric Cooperatives customers in the Pee Dee.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s