Tax relief available for certain SC taxpayers affected by Hurricane Matthew

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WCBD) — The South Carolina Department of Revenue is extending certain South Carolina tax deadlines for taxpayers in counties declared a federal disaster area.

Filing and payment deadlines for South Carolina returns and payments due between October 4, 2016 and March 15, 2017 will now be due March 15, 2017.

This tax relief applies to taxpayers who reside in an affected county or who have businesses, tax records, or tax preparers in an affected county.

Affected counties currently include:

  • Beaufort
  • Berkeley
  • Charleston
  • Colleton
  • Darlington
  • Dillon
  • Dorchester
  • Florence
  • Georgetown
  • Horry
  • Jasper
  • Marion
  • Williamsburg

Additional counties may be added to this list in the upcoming weeks. For up-to-date information regarding SCDOR’s tax relief, please visit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s