Curfews issued for Lowcountry counties

MOUNT PLEASANT, S.C. (WBCD) — Several areas in the Lowcountry are issuing curfews following Hurricane Matthew approach on the South Carolina coast.


Charleston County will issue a curfew Saturday, October 8 to 8 a.m. Sunday morning..


A curfew will be in place from 12:01 a.m. to 6 a.m. on Saturday, October 8 to ensure the safety of residents during Hurricane Matthew. The Berkeley County municipalities of Bonneau, Charleston, Goose Creek, Hanahan, Jamestown and St. Stephen will also be enforcing this curfew.


The Dorchester County Council is issuing a mandatory curfew from 6:00 p.m. on Friday, until the Dorchester County Emergency Management provides an “all clear notice” following Hurricane Matthew. Violators will face a fine up to $500 and or imprisonment for up to 30 days.


A curfew will be in place for areas in Colleton County from 11 p.m., Friday, October 7 until 7 a.m. Saturday morning.




The Williamsburg County Sheriff’s Office, and the Greeleyville, Hemingway, Kingstree and Lane Police Departments will enforce curfews beginning at 8:00 p.m. Friday until 8 a.m. Saturday. Citations will be issued to violators.


The Beaufort County Sheriff’s Office has issued a notice that a mandatory curfew will begin at 7 p.m., Friday, October 7th.  The curfew will be strictly enforced by law enforcement officials and remain in effect until 7 a.m. Saturday morning.  The curfew will resume at sunset on Saturday, October 8th until sunrise on Sunday, October 9th.  The curfew may be extended if needed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s