2 destroyers to be named for Medal of Honor recipients


OXFORD, Miss. (AP) — Navy Secretary Ray Mabus says two destroyers will be named for Marines who received the Medal of Honor for actions during World War II.

He said Saturday in Oxford that the ships will be the first named for Jack H. Lucas and Louis H. Wilson Jr.

Lucas was a 17-year-old private when he got on top of on one grenade and pulled another under his body in a trench during the Battle of Iwo Jima. He was injured and saved three other Marines from injury. Lucas was the youngest World War II service member to receive the Medal of Honor.

As a captain, Wilson commanded a company that destroyed a larger attacking force during the Battle of Guam. He became a general and the Marine Corps’ 26th commandant.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s