Exaggerator’s win ends recent Triple Crown trend

Exaggerator bucked recent history Saturday by beating out Kentucky Derby winner Nyquist to capture the Preakness.

Kentucky Derby champion Nyquist settled for third place in the Preakness, making this just the second time in the last five years that the Derby victor hasn’t gone on to win the second leg of the Triple Crown as well.

The Kentucky Derby and Preakness have ended up with separate winners 10 of the last 20 years, though the only horse to win the Triple Crown during that stretch was American Pharoah last year.

Here’s a rundown of what happened to each of the last nine Kentucky Derby champions before Nyquist that didn’t win the Preakness.

2000: Fusaichi Pegasus won the Kentucky Derby but finished second in the Preakness to Red Bullet, who hadn’t run in the Derby. This ended a string of three straight years in which the Kentucky Derby champion also won the Preakness.

2001: Monarchos finished sixth in a Preakness that was won by Point Given. Two weeks earlier, Point Given had been favored in the Kentucky Derby but finished fifth.

2005: After winning the Kentucky Derby as a 50-1 long shot, Giacomo finished third in the Preakness. Afleet Alex, which finished third in the Derby, ended up winning the Preakness and Belmont Stakes.

2006: Barbaro won the Kentucky Derby that year but shattered bones in his right leg in the Preakness and would be euthanized the following January. Bernardini won the Preakness.

2007: After coming all the way from next-to-last place to win the Kentucky Derby, Street Sense settled for second in the Preakness when Curlin sneaked past him at the wire.

2009: Mine That Bird won the Kentucky Derby as a 50-1 long shot but finished a length behind Rachel Alexandra in the Preakness.

2010: Kentucky Derby champion Super Saver finished eighth in the Preakness. The Preakness winner was Lookin At Lucky, who entered the Kentucky Derby as the favorite but had finished sixth.

2011: Animal Kingdom won the Kentucky Derby but finished a half-length behind Shackleford in the Preakness. Shackleford had finished fourth in the Kentucky Derby.

2013: Kentucky Derby champion Orb finished fourth in the Preakness. Oxbow led from start to finish in the Preakness after finishing sixth in the Kentucky Derby.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s