Goose Creek elects 3 to City Council

GOOSE CREEK, SC (News Release) — Three new City Council members have been elected in Goose Creek.

In unofficial results, Kevin Condon, Brandon Cox and Greg Habib were the top three finishers in Tuesday’s election. Condon and Cox finished with 772 votes apiece, while Habib finished with 700.

The Berkeley County Election Commission will certify the results on Thursday, April 7.

Aileen Lord (609 votes) and Darrell Williams (532 votes) unofficially finished in fourth and fifth place, respectively. A total of 567 votes were needed for a majority, which means no run-off election will be necessary.

Condon, Cox and Habib will take office on May 7. The newly elected council members’ first City Council meeting will be at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, May 10. Council members are elected to 4-year terms.

Voting took place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, April 5 at the Goose Creek Municipal Courthouse at the Marguerite Brown Municipal Center. The incumbent council members for the three seats – John McCants, Franklin Moore and Jerry Tekac – chose not to run for re-election.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s