Bucs earn No. 8 national seed; Will host Citadel-Coastal Carolina winner on Dec. 5

CHARLESTON, S.C. – Charleston Southern’s historic season was rewarded with the No. 8 national seed and a first round bye as the 2015 FCS Playoffs field was announced on Sunday morning live on ESPNU. The playoff berth is the first in school history for the Bucs.

CSU will host the winner of two familiar foes at in a second round game 1 p.m. on Dec. 5 at Buccaneer Field. Coastal Carolina (9-2) will host The Citadel on Saturday at 1 p.m. in Conway, S.C. in the opening round with the winner visiting CSU a week later.

“It’s been a great season, but I don’t think it hits you until they call your name and you’re one of those to receive a first-round bye,” CSU head coach Jamey Chadwell told the media following the selection how. “To see them celebrate the way they did and br thankful and grateful like they were, was a good feeling. Now we look forward to whoever we play in the first round.”

The Buccaneers went 9-2 with their only losses coming at two FBS schools, Alabama, yesterday, and Troy in early September. CSU ran the table in the Big South, going 6-0 behind the FCS’ No. 1 ranked defense.

CSU is 2-0 this season against the playoff field with wins over both of its potential second round matchups. The Bucs bested The Citadel on Sept. 26, 33-20, and notched a 33-25 win at Buccaneer Field on Halloween night over then-No. 1 Coastal Carolina.

TICKETS: Tickets will go on sale on Monday morning through the CSU Ticket Office and on csusports.com. Student tickets will only be available for purchase in the CSU Ticket Office.

Jacksonville State University (10-1) tops the bracket as the number one seed after capturing the automatic qualifying berth from the Ohio Valley Conference. The Gamecocks are making their third straight appearance in the championship and sixth overall.

Illinois State University (9-2) is the number two seed after finishing as the co-champion of the Missouri Valley Football Conference. The Redbirds, the runner-up in last year’s national championship game, are making their sixth appearance in the championship.

Four-time defending national champion North Dakota State University (9-2) is the number three seed after capturing the automatic qualifying berth from the Missouri Valley Football Conference. The Bison are making their sixth straight appearance in the championship.

McNeese State University (10-0) is the number four seed after capturing the Southland Conference automatic berth. The two-time national runner-up Cowboys are making their 16th appearance in the championship.

James Madison University (9-2), the 2004 national champion, will be the fifth seed. The Dukes are making their 12th appearance in the championship.

Portland State University (9-2), making its first appearance since 2000, will be the number six seed. The Vikings are only making their second appearance in the championship.

University of Richmond (8-3), the automatic qualifier from the Colonial Athletic Association, will be the seventh seed. The Spiders, who won the 2008 title, will be making their 10th appearance.

The 2015 championship field consists of 10 automatic qualifiers and 14 at-large qualifiers.

Automatic Qualifiers (10)
Big Sky Conference – Southern Utah (8-3)
Big South Conference – Charleston Southern (9-2)
Colonial Athletic Association – Richmond (8-3)
Missouri Valley Football Conference – North Dakota State (9-2)
Northeast Conference – Duquesne (8-3)
Ohio Valley Conference – Jacksonville State (10-1)
Patriot League – Colgate (7-4)
Pioneer Football League – Dayton (10-1)
Southern Conference – Chattanooga (8-3)
Southland Conference – McNeese State (10-0)

At-Large (14)
Big Sky Conference – Montana (7-4)
Big Sky Conference – Portland State (9-2)
Big South Conference – Coastal Carolina (9-2)
Colonial Athletic Association – James Madison (9-2)
Colonial Athletic Association – New Hampshire (7-4)
Colonial Athletic Association – William and Mary (8-3)
Missouri Valley Football Conference – Illinois State (9-2)
Missouri Valley Football Conference – South Dakota State (8-3)
Missouri Valley Football Conference – Western Illinois (6-5)
Missouri Valley Football Conference – University of Northern Iowa (7-4)
Ohio Valley Conference – Eastern Illinois (7-4)
Patriot League – Fordham (9-2)
Southern Conference – The Citadel (8-3)
Southland Conference – Sam Houston State (8-3)

Television schedules and games times for all rounds of the 2015 championship will be updated at www.NCAA.com/fcs.


November 28 at Dayton, Ohio, Noon (ET) (ESPN3)
Western Ill. (6-5) at Dayton (10-1)

November 28 at Chattanooga, Tennessee, 1 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Fordham (9-2) at Chattanooga (8-3)

November 28 at Conway, South Carolina, 2 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
The Citadel (8-3) at Coastal Carolina (9-2)

November 28 at Huntsville, Texas, 3 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Southern Utah (8-3) at Sam Houston St. (8-3)

November 28 at Missoula, Montana, 3 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
South Dakota St. (8-3) at Montana (7-4)

November 28 at Durham, New Hampshire, 3:30 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Colgate (7-4) at New Hampshire (7-4)

November 28 at Williamsburg, Virginia, 3:30 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Duquesne (8-3) at William & Mary (8-3)

November 28 at Cedar Falls, Iowa, 5 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Eastern Ill. (7-4) at UNI (7-4)


December 5 at Charleston, South Carolina, 1 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Citadel/Coastal Caro. winner at #8 Charleston So. (9-2)

December 5 at Harrisonburg, Virginia, 1 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Colgate/New Hampshire winner at #5 James Madison (9-2)

December 5 at Richmond, Virginia, 1 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Duquesne/William & Mary winner at #7 Richmond (8-3)

December 5 at Jacksonville, Alabama, 2 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Fordham/Chattanooga winner at #1 Jacksonville St. (10-1)

December 5 at Normal, Illinois, 2 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Western Ill./Dayton winner at #2 Illinois St. (9-2)

December 5 at Fargo, North Dakota, 3:30 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
South Dakota St./Montana winner at #3 North Dakota St. (9-2)

December 5 at Lake Charles, Louisiana, 7 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Southern Utah/Sam Houston St. winner at #4 McNeese St. (10-0)

December 5 at Portland, Oregon, 10 p.m. (ET) (ESPN3)
Eastern Ill./UNI winner at #6 Portland St. (9-2)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s