Gov. Haley secures disaster unemployment assistance eligibility for two more counties

COLUMBIA – Gov. Nikki Haley and the S.C. Department of Employment and Workforce (DEW) announced today that Greenville and Spartanburg counties are eligible to receive Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) after FEMA approved them for individual assistance. This brings the total number of counties eligible to 24.

The DUA program makes funds available to assist people who became unemployed as a direct result of the torrential storm and ensuing floods. It also is available to small business owners and the self-employed, including 1099 contract workers, who lost personal income due to the disaster.

The other counties included are Bamberg, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dorchester, Fairfield, Florence, Greenwood, Georgetown, Horry, Kershaw, Lee, Lexington, Marion, Newberry, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter and Williamsburg. Other counties may be added at a later date.

If you have questions regarding your eligibility, call 888-834-5890.

DEW Executive Director Cheryl Stanton said South Carolina workers may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the DUA program.

To be eligible, workers or business owners must meet one or more the following criteria:

  • Individuals who are unemployed due to the disaster, and do not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits.
  • Self-employed individuals and small business owners who lost income due to the disaster.
  • Individuals who were prevented from working due to an injury caused by the disaster.
  • Individuals who have become the major supplier of household income due to the disaster-related death or injury of the previous major supplier of household income.
  • Individuals who are unable to reach their job or self-employment location because they must travel through the affected area and are prevented from doing so by the disaster.
  • Individuals who were to commence employment or self-employment but were prevented by the disaster.

Applicants can file immediately by going to Applicants have 30 days from the time a county has been declared a disaster to file a claim under this program.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s