Over 27,000 Students to Pledge Against Gun Violence

COLUMBIA, SC—- More than 27,000 students across South Carolina are expected to participate next Wednesday, October 21, in the 14th annual Student Pledge Against Gun Violence.

United States Attorney Bill Nettles announced that on Wednesday, October 21, 2015, members of the United States Attorney’s Office and their local, state, and federal law enforcement partners will meet with students from across South Carolina, as part of South Carolina’s 14th annual Student Pledge Against Gun Violence.

With a focus on keeping their schools and communities safe, students in middle school and high school will sign a voluntary pledge promising that they will never take a gun to school, will never resolve a dispute with a gun, and will use their influence to prevent friends from using guns to resolve disputes.  Elementary school children will make a simpler commitment, pledging that if they see a gun they will not touch it, they will assume that any gun they see might be loaded, and they will tell a teacher or a trusted adult.

The effort is part of South Carolina’s Project CeaseFire, which is South Carolina’s implementation of the Department of Justice’s Project Safe Neighborhoods program, which is aimed at reducing gun violence.  The Student Pledge Against Gun Violence is a national program that recognizes the role that young people, through their own decisions, can play in reducing gun violence.  This campaign against youth gun violence culminates each October in a “Day of National Concern about Young People and Gun Violence.” The program provides a means for beginning the conversation with young people about gun violence.  Students from around the country will join together in pledging to do their part to end gun violence.  Over the years, millions of students nationwide have signed the pledge.

Mr. Nettles said that, just as in years past, the response to the pledge campaign has been outstanding, with approximately 27, 832 students from 60 schools across the state agreeing to take part.   “Our office is pleased to take this opportunity to reach out to South Carolina students with an effort to engage students, teachers, and administrators to facilitate a dialogue with students about gun violence and the importance of making good decisions,” stated Mr. Nettles.

The U.S. Attorney’s Office worked with schools, student resource officers, and law enforcement agencies throughout the state to make the pledges available, providing the pledges to participating schools as well as scheduling presentations for some 28 of the schools that requested speakers.  Below is a list of South Carolina schools that are participating in this year’s pledge.  For information on any events scheduled for a particular school, please contact the school. For additional information concerning the pledge, visit the national Student Pledge website at www.pledge.org

Participating Schools:

  • Airport High School
  • James Island High School
  • Arden Elementary School
  • Joseph Keels Elementary School
  • Augusta Circle Elementary School
  • La France Elementary School
  • Allendale-Fairfax Middle School
  • Lakeview Middle School
  • Allendale-Fairfax High School
  • Lamar Elementary School
  • Baptist Hills Middle High School
  • Lamar High School
  • Barnwell 45 Elementary School
  • Lincoln Middle-High School
  • Bridge Creek Elementary School
  • Luther Vaughn Elementary School
  • Brockington Elementary School
  • Macedonia Middle School
  • Brookdale Elementary School
  • Malcolm C. Hursey Elementary School
  • Carolina School for Inquiry
  • Manning Elementary School
  • Carvers Bay Middle School
  • Mary Bramlett Elementary School
  • Central Elementary School
  • Mayewood Middle School
  • Clay Hill Elementary School
  • Myrtle Beach High School
  • Croswell Drive Elementary School
  • Mitchell Math and Science Elementary School
  • Dent Middle School
  • Mullins High School
  • Douglas Elementary School
  • Northwest Elementary School
  • East Elementary School
  • Northwest Middle School
  • Fairfax Elementary School
  • Ocean Drive Elementary School
  • Forestbrook Middle School
  • Orange Grove Elementary Charter School
  • Goucher Elementary School
  • Orange Grove Middle Charter School
  • Greenville Tech Charter High School
  • Orangeburg-Wilkinson High School
  • Hampton Elementary School
  • Petersburg Primary School
  • Hand Middle School
  • Pine Grove Elementary School
  • Hemingway M.B. Lee Middle School
  • Powdersville Middle School
  • High Hills Elementary School
  • Rollings Middle School
  • Shaw AFB, SC
  • Holly Hill Elementary School
  • South Elementary School
  • Hopkins Middle School
  • Spaulding Middle School
  • Horrell Hill Elementary School
  • Summerville Elementary School
  • K. Gourdin Elementary School
  • Travelers Rest High School


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s